International Symposium on Regional Reanalysis
17-19 July 2018 in Bonn, Germany

Important Dates:

Opening of the symposium
17 July 2018


In case any questions arise, please do not hesitate to contact us at

Schedule and programme

The timetable as well as the agenda of the symposium are online in PDF format (update 15 July). You can now also download the scientific program containing all abstracts (PDF, 1.4 MB)

General Information

Example: From global ERA-Interim to regional reanalysis over the North Sea

The Hans-Ertel-Centre for Weather Research is hosting the first International Symposium on Regional Reanalysis from 17 to 19 July 2018 in Bonn (Germany). With reanalysis and in particular reagional reanalysis data sets getting more and more attention, the goal of the symposium is to discuss and promote all aspects of regional reanalyses. We hope that such an event will function as a kick-off for a series of recurring conferences or meetings on regional reanalysis in the following years.

The symposium invites all contributions on development, production, evaluation or application of regional reanalyses.


Logo of the Hans-Ertel-Centre for Weather Research Logo of the University of Bonn Logo of the Deutscher Wetterdienst


Logos of the Sponsors

Young Scientist Travel Award

We are happy to announce that young scientists under the age of 35 years are able to apply for a Young Scientist Travel Award (YSTA) for the ISRR 2018 sponsored through the European Meteorological Society (EMS). The application deadline is 29 April 2018. You can find the neccessary information and application procedure on the YSTA website (click on the ISRR 2018 symposium in the list of sponsored conferences on the website).

Scientific Committee

Jan Keller (Hans-Ertel-Center for Weather Research)
Andrea Kaiser-Weiss (Deutscher Wetterdienst)
Frank Kaspar (Deutscher Wetterdienst)
Per Unden (Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute)
Eric Bazile (MeteoFrance)

Organizing Committee

Jan Keller (Hans-Ertel-Center for Weather Research)
Christian Ohlwein (Hans-Ertel-Center for Weather Research)


The conference will take place at the Universitätsclub Bonn.

Data privacy statement

Please click here for the data privacy statement (in German).