Project Members Overview


Andrew Barrett


rsz_andrew_barrett.jpg Independent researcher (Eigene Stelle)
Karlsruhe Institute for Technology
Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research
Phone: (+49/) 721 608-23277
E-mail: andrew.barrett@kit.edu
Web:www.imk-tro.kit.edu/14_6930.php
Twitter: @AIBarrett
Project: Life Cycle of Convective Storms
Reserach interests: cloud microphysics, deep convection, severe thunderstorms, hail

Ulrich Blahak


uli_blahak1.jpg Principal Investigator
Deutscher Wetterdienst, Forschung und Entwicklung
E-mail:Ulrich.Blahak@dwd.de
Project: Operation hydrometeors
Research interests: numerical weather prediction, cloud physics, aerosol-cloud-radiation
interactions, radar remote sensing, radar forward simulation, radar data assimilation, precipitation nowcasting



Armin Blanke


ASCII���Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset PhD student
University of Bonn
Institute for Geosciences, Department of Meteorology
Phone: (+49/0) 228 73 5107
Email:armin@uni-bonn.de
Project: POLICE
Research interest: radar polarimetry, in-situ observations on aircraft


Yvonne Boose


yvonne_boose2.jpg
Principal Investigator
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt
Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre
Project:POLICE
Research interest: cloud microphysics and aerosol-cloud interaction in mixed-phase and ice clouds




Michael Frech


michael_frech2.jpg Principal Investigator
Deutscher Wetterdienst
Meteorologisches Observatorium Hohenpeissenberg
Email: Michael.Frech@dwd.de
Project: Hydro column
Research interests:Radar data quality monitoring and radar calibration methods.
Microphysical interpretation of polarimetric radar observations that are complemented by
employing additional sensors (insitu, remote sensing)

Mathias Gergely


Scientist
Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD)
Meteorologisches Observatorium Hohenpeißenberg
Email: mathias.gergely@dwd.de
Project: Hydro column
Research interests: radar meteorology
precipitation microphysics, in situ measurements
statistical methods for remote sensing, measurement and retrieval uncertainty

Dr. Martin Hagen


Principal Investigator
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)
Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre, Oberpfaffenhofen
Project: IcePolCKa
Research interests: multi-wavelength radar, polarization radar, air-borne radar




Majid Hajipour


PhD student
Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research (TROPOS)
Project: SPOCC
E-mail:hajipour@tropos.de
Phone: (+49/0) 341 2717-7399
Research interests: Radar remote sensing, Polarimetric radar


Sabine Hörnig


rsz_sabine_hoernig_zugeschnitten.jpg
PhD student
Institute of Meteorology, University Leipzig
E-mail:sabine.hoernig@uni-leipzig.de
Phone: (+49/0) 341 97 - 32935
Project: PARA
Research interest: parameterizations of cloud microphysics in global climate models
mixed phase clouds, cloud-climate-interactions


Priv.-Doz. Tijana Janjic Pfander


tijana2.jpg Principal Investigator
Institute of Meteorology
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Email: tijana.pfander@lmu.de
Phone:(+49/0) 89 2180 4331
Homepage
Project: REDPOL
Research interest: convective scale data assimilation
uncertainty quantification, representation and model errors

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Heike Kalesse-Los


heike_kalesse2.jpg Principal Investigator
University of Leipzig
Junior-Professor (Tenure-track)
Email: heike.kalesse@uni-leipzig.de
Homepage
Project: PICNICC
Research interests: remote-sensing of clouds and the atmosphere


Stefan Kneifel


Principal Investigator
Institute for Geophysics and Meteorology
University of Cologne
Phone: (+49/0) 221 470 6272
Email: skneifel@meteo.uni-koeln.de
Project IMPRINT
Research interest: Radar remote sensing, Ice and snow cloud microphysics
Radiative Transfer, Scattering properties of ice and snow particles

Christoph Knote


christophknote_zugeschnitten.jpg Principal Investigator
Meteorological Institute
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
E-mail: christoph.knote@physik.uni-muenchen.de
Phone: (+49/0)89 2180 4580
Project: IcePolCKa
Research interests: aerosol-cloud interactions, air quality


Oswald Knoth


oswald_knoth2.jpg
Principal Investigator
Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research (TROPOS)
Email:knoth@tropos.de
Project: SPOCC
Research interest: Numerical methods for weather forecasting
Efficient methods for solving large kinetical systems in atmospheric chemistry
Microscale modelling and with applications to urban flow


Junghwa Lee


junghwa_lee2.jpg PhD student
Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research (TROPOS)
Project: SPOCC
E-mail:lee@tropos.de
Phone: (+49/0) 341 2717-7398
Research interests: aerosol-cloud interaction, cloud modeling
radar polarimetry


Jana Mendrok


janamendrock2.jpg Scientist
Deutscher Wetterdienst, Forschung und Entwicklung
E-mail:jana.mendrok@dwd.de
Project: Operation hydrometeors
Research interest: atmospheric remote sensing, remote sensing of clouds & precipitation,
radiative transfer & propagation modelling, forward operator development, polarimetry,
hydrometeor scattering properties


Gregor Köcher


gregormoeller_zugeschnitten.jpg PhD student
Meteorological Institute
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
E-mail: Gregor.Koecher@physik.uni-muenchen.de
Phone: (+89/0) 2180 4363
Project: IcePolCKa
Research interests: Cloud microphysics, radar remote sensing


Manuel Moser


manuel_moser2.jpg PhD student
University of Mainz
DLR
Phone: (+49/0) 8153 28 1008
Email: manuel.moser@dlr.de
Project: POLICE
Research interests: Cloud physics, in situ measurements


Velibor Pejcic


veliborpejcic_zugeschnitten.jpg PhD student
University of Bonn
Institute for Geosciences, Department of Meteorology
Phone: (+49/0) 228 73 5199
Email: velibor@uni-bonn.de
Project: Operation hydrometeors
Research interest: Evaluation of hydrometeor types and properties in the
ICON-LAM model with polarimetric radar observations,
Space-borne and ground-based radar observations for calibration,
evaluation of surface rainfall and hydrometeor classification

Hella Riede


hella_riede2.jpg Deutscher Wetterdienst (DWD)
Remote Sensing Application Development
Email: hella.riede@dwd.de
Project: Web-based radar data portal
Research interests: nowcasting, remote sensing data, atmospheric observations,
airborne observations, atmospheric chemistry, atmospheric modeling


Tobias Scharbach


PhD student
University of Bonn
Institute for Geosciences, Department of Meteorology
Email: toscha@uni-bonn.de
Phone: (+49/0) 228 73- 5107
Project: PARA


Patric Seifert


patricseifert_zugeschnitten.jpg Principal Investigator
Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research (TROPOS)
Email: seifert@tropos.de
Phone: (+49/0) 341 2717 7080
Projects: PICNICC
SPOCC
Research interests: Aerosol-cloud-dynamics interactions and
their observation with active remote sensing

Axel Seifert


axel_seifert2.jpg
Prinipal Investigator
Deutscher Wetterdienst Offenbach
Geschäftsbereich Forschung und Entwicklung
Email:axel.seifert@dwd.de
Projects: IMPRINT
REDPOL
Research interests: Cloud physics, cloud microphysical parameterizations,
numerical weather prediction and data assimilation

Florian Semrau


PhD student
Meteorological Institute Munich
Phone: (+49/0) 089 2180 4390
Email: Florian.Semrau@physik.uni-muenchen.de
Project: REDPOL
Research interests: convective scale data assimilation, field alignment, uncertainty quantification





Dr. Prabhakar Shrestha


pshrestha_prom2.jpg Principal Investigator
University of Bonn
Institute for Geosciences, Department of Meteorology
Email: pshrestha@uni-bonn.de
Project: ILACPR
Homepage
Research interests: terrestrial systems modeling


Audrey Teisseire


Phd student
Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research (TROPOS)
Email: teisseire@tropos.de
Projects: PICNICC
Research interests:Projects: Investigating aerosol-cloud-interaction processes based
on statistics of cloud microphysical properties from observations of scanning polarimetric
cloud Doppler radar under contrasting aerosol conditions


Eleni Tetoni


eleni_tetoni.jpg Phd student
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)
Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre, Oberpfaffenhofen, Germany
Email: Eleni.Tetoni@dlr.de
Project: IcePolCKa
Research interests: ice clouds, multi-wavelength radar observations, radar polarimetry



Stefano Turso


Principal Investigator
Fraunhofer Institute for High Frequency Physics and Radar Techniques FHR
E-mail: stefano.turso@fhr.fraunhofer.de
Phone: +49 228 60882 2109
Project: RADar (WRAD)
Research interests: radar system and antenna design, electronically-steerable arrays, agile prototyping, instrumental validation and automation, signal processing, polarimetric weather radars.



Teresa Vogl


teresa_vogl.jpg PhD student
University of Leipzig
Email: teresa.vogl@uni-leipzig.de
Homepage
Project: PICNICC
Research interests: mixed-phase and ice clouds,
cloud radar Doppler spectra, radar forward operators



Jan-Niklas Welß


welss_jan_niklas.jpg PhD Student
Deutscher Wetterdienst Offenbach
Geschäftsbereich Forschung und Entwicklung
Email: jan-niklas.welss@dwd.de
Projects: IMPRINT
Research interest: cloud microphysics, cloud modeling, turbulence



Leonie von Terzi


leonie_von_terzi2.jpg PhD student
Insitute for Geophysics and Meteorology University of Cologne
Phone: (+49/0) 221 470-6236
Email: lterzi@uni-koeln.de
Project IMPRINT
Research interests: Radar remote sensing, ice and snow cloud microphysics
scattering properties of ice and snow particles


Yuefei Zeng


Scientist
Meteorological Institute
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
E-mail: yuefei.zeng@lmu.de
Phone: (+49/0) 89 2180 4390
Project: REDPOL
Research interest:radar forward operator, ensemble Kalman filter, radar data assimilation


Tobias Zinner


OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Principal Investigator
Meteorological Institute
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
E-mail: tobias.zinner@lmu.de
Phone: (+49/0) 089 2180 4289
Project: IcePolCKa
Research interests: Active and passive remote sensing, convection, cloud microphysics